Wireless network requirements for gaming and streaming

lun4tic

Distinguished
Aug 30, 2010
So, I'm extremely new to wireless networks and I've been sorting through different products while attempting to resist an information overload. Our house was once wired, but the lines behind the walls seem to be dying. We've run tests, ourselves, and even had Comcast come out and pretty much give us the same results. So we now switch to wireless. I'm mostly concerned with my gaming, but beyond that we'll have a floating laptop. I've got a few questions for a caring soul:

What kind of transfer rate should I be concerned with if I'm interested in PC and console gaming, as well as Netflix/Zune video streaming? It seems the higher end of the spectrum is around 400Mbps, but is that excessive? How much of a difference will I notice between that and 150Mbps?

When it comes to adapters, I've noticed some that are attached through USB port, PCI-E port, and some that seem to be a second router that then allows wired connections. Any recommendation here? The TEW-647GA Wireless N Gaming Adapter appears to be an attractive purchase, since all my gaming and streaming is done in the same place.

What would be the ideal set-up? Any recommendations?

steimy

Distinguished
Aug 25, 2011
I have done both console gaming and streaming to my console for a while now over wireless.
One thing i would ask is about those speeds you posted (400mbps & 150mbps). Do you know if those speeds are Megabytes or Megabits? It does make a difference.

But i can tell you what i had and have now and you can compare.
I had Time Warner Roadrunner (the highest tier) which was only 15mbps (pretty sure they are megabits) with only 568kbps upload. It was ok for gaming as long as it was not one where my connection was needed to host (Like Rainbow Six Vegas, because to host upload speed plays a big part. And mine sucked)
But as far as normal gaming and streaming I had no issues.