Sound Card for Electronic Music Production

Basserra

Honorable
Feb 21, 2013
Hi, so I'm looking into getting a sound card for not only Gaming, Movies and listening to Music, but making Music also. (all in a DAW) Now I'm not very far into being a producer, but I love Electronic music and I'm an audiophile. To get to the question at hand, I need some more information like. Do I need an external sound card or will an internal discrete card work? As far as internal go, are Sound Blaster Zx-ZxR series good cards and the ACM a decent mic with possible minor voice recording? And for external I know almost nothing about 'em. Oh and for $$ range, I'm not a prodigy so I don't need a high dollar card but I will go as far as $300 or higher because time isn't a must here

Thanks for reading :p

A soundcard is not necessary for making music per se; thats the domain of software. That being said, if you are connecting various MIDI devices, you want a soundcard with those types of hookups.

As far as audio INPUT goes, consumer soundcards are crap. They aren't designed around audio input. Professional cards do better at this [M-Audio and others].

Basserra

Honorable
Feb 21, 2013
OK so some more reading around the internet and a sound card is not required but does improve the sound. So I was thinking maybe I'll pick up some studio monitors regardless then maybe a mid to high range card? Also I don't 'need' MIDI interface cause I have two low end keyboards that run through USB currently. Although I would like to get into some vocal recording much later so that doesn't matter right now, what does, is that I would like to connect my Bass guitar for reference 'not recording' I don't need to record instruments because I've got a DAW and VSTs. What are some of your guys thoughts and opinions on this?

Also sorry for such a huge gap of no posts

darth banus

Honorable
Oct 19, 2013