Bang for buck gaming rig now?

hey (sorry im a noob) im gonna put in some cash for a new rig so the house mate have this one to use and not touch my new rig but anyway whats the best bang for buck rig you can get now as in cpu, gpu mobo.

everyone is boasting about the i5 3750k but for some reason (mabye im crazy) I like amd cos i dunno there's something. what amd cpu could i get that would be better than the 3750k for gaming? (im gonna oc)
and ill probly be getting a radeon gpu and id want the cpu and gpu to compliment each other
8 answers Last reply
More about bang buck gaming
  1. AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb: $100

It comes with a $10-off every week or so -- put the extra $130-$140 toward your video card.
  2. ive heard mixed reviews on that tho. you recon it will be better for then the i5 3750k?
    money aint really a prob id be get 1 piece each week on a $500 a week budget so im looking for the best parts but not the ridiculously over priced unnecessary parts.
    and its not like i hell want amd that bad.
    and id also like to beable to run physx: but do that really make much of a difference?
  3. It's the video card.

It's the video card.

It's the video card.

It's the video card.

(in the over-whelming majority of games)

AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb - Asus M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ 990FX: $237

Boogie on.
  4. http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gaming-cpu-review-overclock,3106-5.html worth a read. Amd has clearly stated that they are no longer trying to compete with intel at the high end any more. So if you are looking for performance at the high end (where the 3750k is) then i'm afraid you are stuck with an intel build for now. The newest cpu from amd the a10-5800k does compete quite well with the i3 3220 and most i3's.

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/amd-intel-cpu-apu-processors,15741.html
  5. Delby Dank said:
    ive heard mixed reviews on that tho. you recon it will be better for then the i5 3750k?