Sign in with
Your question

Got thermal paste on green part of CPU

Last response: in Systems
October 9, 2012 2:37:56 PM

I should mention right now that I am a first time builder. To make a long story short, yesterday I removed my heatsink (Hyper 212) from my CPU (i5-3570K) for the third time in two days. I got everything cleaned and it was looking good until I noticed that there is a small amount of thermal paste on the green part of the CPU, on the left side. It's about a centimeter or two away from the contacts on that side, so the paste shouldn't be touching any contacts.

I would have tried cleaning it last night, but the paste is dryed on. I do not not the best method fro cleaning dry paste off of that part of the CPU, so I decided it was for me to ask for help. Should I try to removed the paste, or will it not be issue with where it is right now?
October 9, 2012 4:48:02 PM

I figure I should add a few more details to my problem.

The first time I installed my heatsink, I installed off center, and I probably used too much thermal paste. When I placed the heatsink on the first time, I put on a dot of paste and then placed the heatsink on the CPU. The second time around, I put on a dot of paste but instead I spread it on the CPU using a plastic bag over my hand. I am not sure which of these two incidents would have caused the errant thermal paste, but I think it might have been the first one. When I removed the heatsink, the thermal paste was only spread over the left half of the CPU, with nothing on the right side. I should also mention that I used the stock thermal paste that came with the 212.