Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Odd temps in SLI with 2 gtx 580's

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
August 17, 2012 6:18:53 PM

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting on a forum, so please take it easy on me :p . My problem is, that when I put both my cards in SLI, my primary card reaches 55c idle or so. The other card sits at about 37c. I know that the primary card can be a few degrees higher.. but that seems odd to me. I tested both cards in SLI, with "Heaven dx11 benchmark 3.0", uni-engines benching software, and with everything on max, and the primary card was around 75-76c, the other at around 73-74c. So under load, temps are normal, but under idle, ones hot, and ones cold. No big deal, its just annoying when I surf the interwebs to have the one fan at around 70%.

Also, i have the EVGA precision x program, and what it seems to me when I look at it is this. The primary card is still at 797MHz, while the other card has clocked itself down. Maybe thats the problem? Not sure. Any help would be appreciated!

Martin.

More about : odd temps sli gtx 580

Best solution

a b U Graphics card
August 17, 2012 6:42:11 PM

IT could be a driver issue, i would uninstall the display driver and download and run driversweeper and run the nvidia driver cleaner then restart and reinstall the latest driver.
a c 555 U Graphics card
August 17, 2012 6:54:00 PM

xxmartyxx6991 said:
The primary card is still at 797MHz, while the other card has clocked itself down. Maybe thats the problem? ...
The primary card is not returning to its default clock speeds.

Click on the DEFAULT button in the EVGA PRECISIONX app to reset the master GPU to default settings after exiting a gaming session.

If the fan is spinning at 70% when you're only surfing the web then you should check to see if the fan speed is set to auto or that you didn't manually override the auto setting. Sometimes it takes a couple of minutes for the fan to throttle down its speed if the CPU temperature is still high.