Best gaming custom desktop for ~$1000

strybid

Honorable
Oct 10, 2012
I am ordering parts seperately from newegg.ca I was wondering if somebody could find me the best value for ~$1000. This needs to include the operating system (windows 7) and all other required parts. Obviously since it's a gaming focused computer I am looking for an intel i5 at the least and preferably an nvidia geforce. The game I am currently into is league of legends but I would like this system to be able to run newer games on high setting if possible. A good balance of RAM, CPU, and GPU is what im looking for. The main focus is GPU however. Please respond asap.

NOTE: I have never built my own computer before so please make sure the parts are all compatible.

Solution

Very very minor you wont see a diffrence between 1.01 and 967MHz

Personally I'd recommend the NZXT Gamma Classic, with one extra 120mm and one extra 140mm fan.

As for ram, there's no point in spending $100 on it anymore - it's become dirt cheap. The best 8Gigs of 1600MHz ram will only cost you about $70, and that's just a premium for having a CAS latency lower than normal. And if you're wondering, no, you don't need more than 8Gigs - save the money and buy a good SSD.

You're gaming, right? Don't buy the 660ti - the neutered memory bandwith makes it kinda awful. Let's see if we can get your costs down to let you afford a 670.

An SSD goes along with an HDD - you install your OS to it, and any programs that you use frequently or that take a long time to load. If you play MMOs, put them on there - it makes loading screens go bye-bye.

Like I was saying, you don't need 16 gigs of ram for anything but the heaviest rendering. You also don't get ANY benefit out of having ram faster than 1600MHz on an intel chip - it's just wasted money. I'd go with am 8Gig pair that runs at 1600 with a Cas latency of 7 or 8 - it'll be faster than the ram you have selected now, and cheaper.