Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Best gaming custom desktop for ~$1000

Last response: in Systems
October 10, 2012 9:54:43 PM

I am ordering parts seperately from newegg.ca I was wondering if somebody could find me the best value for ~$1000. This needs to include the operating system (windows 7) and all other required parts. Obviously since it's a gaming focused computer I am looking for an intel i5 at the least and preferably an nvidia geforce. The game I am currently into is league of legends but I would like this system to be able to run newer games on high setting if possible. A good balance of RAM, CPU, and GPU is what im looking for. The main focus is GPU however. Please respond asap.

NOTE: I have never built my own computer before so please make sure the parts are all compatible.
October 10, 2012 10:16:09 PM

i dont feel like spending $100 on a case and $50 on ram seems right
m
l
Related resources
October 10, 2012 10:20:39 PM

strybid said:

Edit it as you wish
m
l
a b B Homebuilt system
a b 4 Gaming
October 10, 2012 10:34:39 PM

strybid said:

Personally I'd recommend the NZXT Gamma Classic, with one extra 120mm and one extra 140mm fan.

As for ram, there's no point in spending $100 on it anymore - it's become dirt cheap. The best 8Gigs of 1600MHz ram will only cost you about $70, and that's just a premium for having a CAS latency lower than normal. And if you're wondering, no, you don't need more than 8Gigs - save the money and buy a good SSD.
m
l
a b B Homebuilt system
a b 4 Gaming
October 10, 2012 10:43:19 PM

You're gaming, right? Don't buy the 660ti - the neutered memory bandwith makes it kinda awful. Let's see if we can get your costs down to let you afford a 670.

An SSD goes along with an HDD - you install your OS to it, and any programs that you use frequently or that take a long time to load. If you play MMOs, put them on there - it makes loading screens go bye-bye.