Sign in with
Your question

New Build System Advice

Last response: in Systems
October 10, 2012 11:34:11 PM

I'm looking to build a new desktop as my dual core laptop is starting to give me issues and my old Celeron desktop is just too old (yet still working like a champ). I haven't built a new machine is close to 10 years and everything is a tad overwhelming so I'd like some advice as to what I should build for my needs.

I'm a graphic designer so I need to use the Adobe Creative Suite (Photoshop, Illustrator, Flash, etc...). Besides doing my work I'll be using the machine to surf the web and some light gaming (Half-Life 2, Counter Strike, Team Fortress). Nothing really fancy as I have an Xbox for other games.

I'll be running Windows 7 32-bit and already have a copy as well as a case, sound card, disc drives, monitor, and peripherals. I'm looking to spend around $500-700 in total. I plan on buying the parts by the end of the month from Tiger Direct (unless I can find a better deal elsewhere).

For this build I will need a CPU, Mobo, Video card, RAM, Wireless Networking card, and a Power Supply only

I've been looking at building it around an Intel i5-2400 or 2500 with:

Asus Mobo
WD 500GB Blue or Black HDD SATA
4GB DDR3 (Corsair)
Nvidia Graphics Card
Wireless card
Power supply ~500 watts

CPU: The i5 should more than meet my requirements and my budget but is there any REAL difference between the 2400 and 2500 besides 0.2 mhz and about $30? Also, from reviews, most people say the included fan doesn't work very well and it runs on the hot side. Is that really the case and if so what sort of aftermarket fan should I get? I'm not interested in overclocking.