Random freezing in certain games/programs, must hard reboot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Venant

Honorable
Oct 11, 2012
I've been running this homebuilt rig for about 5 months now and I've spent that entire time trying to find the source of this semi-random freezing. It's just a sudden freeze with no warning, I've left the system on for hours to see if it would ever fix itself and it never has. What really gets me is that there doesn't seem to be any reason a particular game triggers it while another won't. for example:

Skyrim: Freezes very rarely, always on loading screens.
Vindictus: Fairly rare, always at the end of a mission after the boss is defeated
World of Tanks: I'm lucky if I can get through a match. It's common enough that I can use this to test whether the problem has been fixed.
Dolphin Gamecube/Wii Emulator: Freezes the instant the iso is loaded, without fail.
It has happened with nothing but Chrome and Skype running but that was maybe twice in the five months. I've also confirmed that these games will trigger it without these running.

Most games run fine, including: Borderlands, Portal 1 and 2, Battlefield 3, Torchlight 1 and 2, Planetside 2, Team Fortress 2, Minecraft...
Way too many to list. Point is most run fine but certain ones freeze with varying frequency.
And let me just emphasize: Battlefield 3 running on Ultra causes no issues, but freaking World of Tanks freezes every time. This is part of what's driving me insane.

Anyway, I've run diagnostics on the RAM and HDD, Swapped out the RAM with known working sticks, run without the GPU, monitored CPU temps (Never seen it above 50C, 40 is normal under load.), and run more than enough scans to be sure that it isn't malware. I've also tried more fixes than I can remember, including everything in this thread and several others that have long since been cleared from my history. So far, not even a clue.

My specs are:
O/S: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit