Sign in with
Your question

Will I need a low-profile graphics card for this motherboard?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
August 18, 2012 8:47:38 PM

Hello, I am wondering whether I need a low profile graphics card for this mobo, as it is pretty small.
http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=...

It's a PCI-E x16 if that helps :/ 

If it does require a low profile card, can I have some suggestions for a good one for gaming under £120

I am a complete newbie to pc building and such.

Thank you :) 
August 18, 2012 8:48:25 PM

That motherboard is an AM3 socket AMD mobo, that supports DDR3 (No higher than 1333MHz, still available. 8 gb kits of it are only 50 bucks) and is PCIe 2.0. That's last gen, but no cards can bottle neck that bandwidth yet (I believe), it's still a perfectly viable board for gaming on an AMD system. Throw a AMD Phenon II x4 965 quadcore black edition in there with any graphics card you want broheim.

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E1681...

look there, it has all the information. If it has "PCIe 2.0" You're good to go.

--

It's your case and your power supply you should worry about, not the motherboard. I'd recommend nothing less than a 600w corsair PSU for a high end graphics card, and a case with lots of room :p 

I hope I was of some assistance.
a c 104 U Graphics card
a b V Motherboard
August 18, 2012 9:00:35 PM

Weird, i only see one pci-e x16 slot i believe. You're sure about the sli ?
Related resources
August 18, 2012 9:06:40 PM

OptyFM said: