Cases for a gaming PC

Irishooligan

Honorable
Feb 24, 2013
Hello people of toms hardware. I have been recently putting together a checklist for a gaming pc and have come down to everything I need other than a case for it all. I have on here that is in budget but also has a nice finish and looks pretty sweet. http://www.walmart.com/ip/16318535?wmlspartner=wlpa&adid=22222222227000000000&wl0=&wl1=g&wl2=&wl3=21486607510&wl4=&wl5=pla&veh=sem . Do cases really matter for this sort of thing? I will be running an i5 3570k (might switch to an i7 3770k). Any advice? its my first time doing this sort of thing, so throw anything you want at me. Thanks!

Solution
A lot of it is really subjective (aesthetics). Personally I don't think I'd do a new build without front USB3.0, and that instantly rules out a lot of budget options. (The Raidmax has it, but only a single port)

I'd have a look at Coolermaster for sure. They have a lot of different cases and most of them are really well reviewed.
I used an Antec Three Hundred Two in a budget build last year for a friend, great case if a bit basic in looks/features. Solid though.
Bitfenix Shinobi is a nice mid range case too. Pretty much anything by Fractal Design, though they tend to be very expensive. NZXT cases are also well received though the aesthetics tend to be love or hate.

One thing I didn't mention in the first reply was that any case with a...

Rammy

Honorable
A lot of choosing a case is aesthetics. Personally I think that case is pretty nasty looking, but it's not me who has to live with it.
Cases do matter, and there are a lot of things to consider.

- Build quality - You are unlikely to be able to tell this from a picture but reviews will give you an idea. Lower quality materials or extensive use of plastics can result in a case that is creaky or awkward to work with.
- Airflow - Is it supplied with quality fans, how is the airflow set up, is it well vented. Is airflow even important to you?