Updating components

soline

Honorable
Oct 13, 2012
hello! Im a total rookie when it comes to building computers and whatnot.

My computer is fairly old and im planning on buying this:

Motherboard: ASUS P8Z77-V LX, Socket-1155
Processor: Intel® Core i5-2500K Processor
RAM: Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz 8GB CL8

First question, will this all work together?
Second question, will this work with a 550 watt power supply and a AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series GPU
Third question, will I be able to stream World of Warcraft without lag if this all goes together?

Thanks

r0aringdrag0n

Distinguished
Hello! Welcome to Tom's Hardware!

To Answer your questions:
1. Yes!
2. Yes! However, may we know what PSU you plan on using? Most beginners skimp out on the Power supply and buy a really cheap one that advertises high output but are in fact really inefficient and unreliable which is NOT good for the computer whatsoever. If the PSU is unreliable and fails, the computer fails, so be sure to get a reliable one (we can help you pick a good one)
3. Depends, you'll be able to run WoW on highest graphics, but its all going to come down to your internet. If your internet is slow, the game will be slow, else, the computer should handle everything just fine.

I want to make a few more points:

You are using older computer hardware (released last year) and new ones have come out, which would be faster and more efficient.
The CPU, the i5 2500k is a Sandy Bridge CPU running @ 95W (it's a fabulous CPU, i have it) but the newer Intel i5 3570k is only $10 more expensive and is the new Ivy bridge, which is faster and less power hungry:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819116504

Newer graphics cards have also been released, the AMD's 7000s series and the Nvidia 600 series, both of which are probably better performing than a 6900 graphics card at the same price range.
Check them out: