Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Welcoming Suggestions on $2,000 Build

Last response: in Systems
October 13, 2012 2:56:40 PM

I'd like to make my innagural post by asking for approval of my first PC build. I would like to know if the components I selected are compatible (I think they are, but I want to be assured). I would also like to see suggestions for alternative items. Since this is my first build, I'm going off suggestions from this site, Maximum PC, and other enthusiast sites. I appreciate any input provided :) 

With that being said, purchasing of components will happen at one time. I plan on purchasing towards the end of October or second week of November.

$ 2,000.00 is my budget for all components, monitor, mouse, keyboard and OS. I do not want to go over $ 2,000.00 but I can if I need to cover additional shipping.

This computer will be used primarily for gaming. Other uses will be MS Office, various programs, and also a place for document storage and back up for my business laptop.
With this build, I will need a monitor and operating stem. The monitor that I had tentatively selected has a 1920x1080 resolution

I am partial to Newegg.com but after viewing PCpartspicker.com, there are some deals to be had on the other sites they list, I will order from them as well.

My current residence is in Lexington, KY. I am not aware of any major computer component retailers around town yet.
I prefer an Intel CPU, and an Nvidia graphics card, however I am not set on Nvidia. The basic research I’ve done suggests that for what I want to do and the budget I have, the 670 is a good fit. I am open to suggestions though.

Overclocking is a possibility down the road. Creating a stable build is of utmost importance to me before I take on exciting tasks like overclocking or SLI.