Sign in with
Your question

New Gaming PC Build Questions

Last response: in Systems
October 13, 2012 10:37:58 PM

Hello there, I'm not very experienced with PC building and this is my first proper build. I have a few questions for the experts out there :D 

The build I have gone for is this:

Case: Xigmatek Elysium
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
CPU: i7 3930K
GPU: Asus GTX 690
RAM: GSkill Ripjaws Z Series 2133Mhz 16GB (4x4)
PSU: Corsair AX Professional Series Gold 1200w
Storage: OCZ Vertex 4 256GB SSD and a Western Digital Caviar 3TB

First of all is this an ok build? Will I run into any issues?

Secondly for CPU cooling I have chosen a corsair H80. I've heard several arguements whether or not this should be used as an intake or an outtake fan.

Thirdly cooling the case in general has been a bit of a concern for me. I plan to put my PSU at the bottom to according to what I have read about my case I should be able to fit x3 140mm fans along the top and another 2 at the bottom of the case and it comes with x2 120mm fans at the front. Is this excessive amounts of fans and will this work well for a push/pull configuration?

My last question is if this does work well I am not sure my motherboard will have enough fan connectors. I found this on Amazon...

https://www.overclockers.co.uk/pimg/CM-094-BX_42738_350...

Will I have any further issues using these? Is there a better way to power multiple fans?

Thanks in advance for helping me!

More about : gaming build questions

October 13, 2012 10:48:29 PM

What are you trying to do with this PC? It is hugely over-spec for almost any use. If you confirm your intended uses, and your budget, it may be possible to configure something that better matches your actual needs.
October 13, 2012 10:55:57 PM

It's a gaming PC. I am aware that it's spec is a bit overkill. I can afford it on my budget though.
Related resources
October 13, 2012 11:08:45 PM

ErmCantThink said: