New Build - $2000 Gaming Build

McFrutten

Honorable
Oct 14, 2012
Hello all, long time lurker, first time poster looking to get some advice on a new build. It’s been over 6 years since I last built a system and I’ve been using laptops for the last 4/5 years.

I haven’t kept abreast of component developments in that time, I’ve done some research in the last few days but there are still plenty of things that I’m not sure of. This is where your valued advice will come in. Apologies in advance for the barrage of questions that will follow but I’ll try to keep it concise.

Approximate Purchase Date: Next month (November 2012)
Budget Range: $2000 (Flexible)
System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming (BF3, CIV5, MOH:Warfighter EVE Online etc), movies, internet browsing, word/excel for work
Are you buying a monitor: Yes (All peripherals required)
Do you need to buy OS: Yes
Preferred Website(s) for Parts: mwave.com.au, netplus.com.au, pccasegear.com, scorptec.com.au These are just the main sites I am aware of, no problems using others if people are aware of them.
Overclocking: Maybe (I’ve never water cooled before so I’d like to try a closed loop system and try to push the CPU up to around 4ghz)
SLI or Crossfire: Maybe (I’m intrigued by the idea of 3D gaming in the future so would like to leave the possibility of increasing graphics processing power open)
Your Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080 minimum, 2560x1600 if I decide to get a larger monitor
Additional Comments: I’d like to go with an nvidia card for the SLI 3D Vision option and PhysX but if the performance of a Radeon far outweighs a similar nvidia card then I’ll consider it but I am aware that there is no crossfire support for HD3D yet.