Newbie <$200 CPU-mobo-RAM question

bobc42

Honorable
Oct 14, 2012
Short version:
I'm a frugal newbie who's thinking of adding an AMD3(+) CPU, motherboard, and RAM to some existing components for a basic non-gaming PC. I'd appreciate advice on my choices, especially warnings.

Long version:

Approximate Purchase Date: October 2012

Budget Range: $150-200 (for CPU+mobo+RAM) After Rebates; After Shipping

System Usage from Most to Least Important: web surfing, email, office/homework, (maybe) watching movies

Are you buying a monitor: No (have HP LP2065)

Parts to Upgrade: CPU, mobo, RAM, (existing PSU = Thermal Master 500W TM-500-PSSR-F1)

Parts to Re-use: Monitor, IDE DVD-RW, IDE HDD, Bluetooth USB adapter, case, PSU.

Do you need to buy OS: No (plan to keep using Linux, but might add Windows later)

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com, or other suggestions

Parts Preferences: AMD AM3/3+ motherboards seem to have the best onboard features for my needs (IDE connection, DVI port)

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire: No

Your Monitor Resolution: 1600x1200 monitor, also maybe 1368x768 HDTV

Additional Comments: This would mainly be a kid's homework and entertainment PC (no serious gaming) with possible use for viewing video on a 32-inch HDTV.

And Most Importantly, Why Are You Upgrading: Old PC failed, want to build new one using surviving parts.
- - -

My old hand-me-down PC (P4, D865GLC mobo, Linux Mint 13) developed intermittent power-on failures. I tested the old PSU, and it seemed OK. I found a Cooler Master case & PSU combo at Amazon, where I had enough card points to make it "free", and bought it. I figured I'd test the original motherboard in the new case/PSU, hoping that the problem was in the case switch or PSU. If it wasn't, then I'd have the case for a new build.