No internet access on 2 laptops

kristieswisher

Distinguished
Nov 14, 2011
I am so frustrated and I hope someone can help with this. First of all, I have Veracity internet service--no modem--internet access is provided through it's own linksys router system, and cable plugs directly into my linksys wrt54g router. I have a desk top (where router is attached) and 2 laptops with wireless. Until yesterday, everything was fine and all computers had internet access. Then, the circuit breaker in the house tripped and had to be reset. Now, I get internet on the desk top, but not the laptops--they have no internet at all. I have reset, reconnected, everything I could think of to do multiple times to get the same result. The laptops are not picking up the home network and if I try to add again manually, I get message saying that it is already there, but I can no longer see it as a choice to connect to, and it is not connecting automatically, as it should do. I am NOT a techie...but boy, do I wish I knew what to do now, lol. I tried accessing my modem's IP directly according to linksys to try and gain access to the online router set-up, but I could not get it to come up. When I try on desk top to check "cmd" to get IP address on computer, I am not able to get info--I can check info in "Network & Sharing" and it doesn't match what I think it should be--the numbers all begin with 66.219...so I think the internet service info is what is populating the IP, gateway and server numbers instead. Desk top computer is running Vista....one laptop Windows 7 and one laptop Vista. Where do I go from here? Thank you!

cpatel1987

Distinguished
Feb 2, 2010

If you have completely reset the router back to factory settings, than the SSID, aka, the name you gave your wireless network, is NOT going to be what it was previously. Its going to default to like "linksys" or something generic.