Computer build

mmmbacon

Honorable
Oct 16, 2012
hi guys and girls, im trying to build my first computer. i have a set build in mind and it would be great if anyone here can give his or her insights. my build is:

case - cooler master HAF 912
cpu - intel core i5-3570k
motherboard - asrock z77 extreme4
gpu - nvidia geforce gtx 560 ti
ram - corsair vengance 8gb
psu - corsair builder series cx600 600w
hdd - western digital 1TB
optical drive - asus 24x dvd burner

is this an alright build? im going to be mainly using this for gaming and browsing. im a total noob when it comes to computers so any advice would be greatly appreciated. thanks!

Solution
Yep, you have got it pretty much right.

Case is feature less for the price, would get a Zalman Z9+ instead.

Mobo, CPU is good.

GPU is old now and is easily outclassed by other cards. Look at a HD7850 or GTX660 instead.

RAM is good, though with tall heatfins. This will become an issue if you install an aftermarket heatsink to overclock (which you can on this hardware btw). Would look at getting a low profile kit like the G.Skill Ares or Vengeance LP.

PSU is good, if bare in features.

HDD is also good, though look at Seagate Barracuda's. They are often cheaper and slightly outperform Caviar Blacks.

Optical is meh, no one uses discs anymore so performance here doesnt matter.
Yep, you have got it pretty much right.

Case is feature less for the price, would get a Zalman Z9+ instead.

Mobo, CPU is good.

GPU is old now and is easily outclassed by other cards. Look at a HD7850 or GTX660 instead.

RAM is good, though with tall heatfins. This will become an issue if you install an aftermarket heatsink to overclock (which you can on this hardware btw). Would look at getting a low profile kit like the G.Skill Ares or Vengeance LP.

PSU is good, if bare in features.

HDD is also good, though look at Seagate Barracuda's. They are often cheaper and slightly outperform Caviar Blacks.