Change boot sequence in Asus Motherboard

S Ray

Honorable
Jan 29, 2013
This is a new first build. It worked fine for 3 days. Now, suddenly, every time I shut the computer down and try to start up, I get the message to press F1 and recover the bios settings. No matter how many times I set the sequence, the bios won't save it. However if I just restart instead of shutting down it works fine.

I have updated to the latest bios and it remains the same. All I have installed is the hard drive and a dvd.

Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Processor Amd 5800k
MB Asus F2 A85-V Pro
Memory 16 (2x8) Corsair Vengenance
HD Western Digital 500MB 64 megs cach
PSU 550w Antec Modular
O/S Windows 7 Professional

I have tried to change a couple of the settings in the bios, but the simple changes that I try, they are never saved. Should anyone be kind enough to offer suggestions, please be specific as to technicality for I an not learned as to building a computer. I am just a novice. I am retired and the wife needs a new computer, so I decided to give it a go. Everything was fine until this happened.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Solution
Check one quick thing. On the mobo near the battery is a set of three pins with a jumper block over 2 of them. This is used to temporarily "kill" the battery power supply to the BIOS and wipe it clean so it can be re-loaded with basic default settings. Make sure the jumper is NOT on the two pins for "Reset" - they should be on the other end for normal operation.

S Ray

Honorable
Jan 29, 2013

Paperdoc

Polypheme
Ambassador
Since you removed and replaced the battery, there are two other things you should do. The first is to restore a reliable set of parameters in BIOS, and then use a BIOS tool to make your changes stick.