Sign in with
Your question

Rate my first build

Last response: in Systems
October 16, 2012 6:52:33 PM

I have never done this before.

I am trying to build a Gaming/Audiophile computer, that is somewhat portable (i am in college and need it to survive the drives home, and a very dusty room) I plan on attaching it to a lg m2762d monitor, and high end headphones and speakers. (not sure whether thats relevant or not).

As of now, I would like to play borderlands and sky rim. Will also have a ton of music files in large file formats, and movies and tv shows.

Some things I like so far. Are these good?

Case: Corsair Vengeance Series C70

PSU: CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850 (CMPSU-850AX) 850W ATX12V v2.31 / EPS12V v2.92 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular Active PFC Power Supply

motherboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH Z77 LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

CPU: Intel Core i7-3770 Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.9GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4000 BX80637I73770

Graphics: EVGA SuperClocked 02G-P4-2662-KR GeForce GTX 660 2GB 192-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

Sound: HT | OMEGA Claro Halo XT PCI Interface Sound Card w/ a built-in HI-FI Headphone Amplifier

using Crucial M4 CT128M4SSD2 2.5" 128GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) for the OS and to store game saves, programs that I often use.

Will these work? I do not know anything about cooling. Should I replace the fans the case comes with? Add more? Do i need a cpu cooler different than the one that comes with the cpu?

because I am completely new to this, I am scared of overclocking.

What memory, main HDD, optical, wifi adapter should I use? (I need a cd/dvd read write). I would like a 1TB drive.

I would like to play games with few issues for a few years. I

Thanks!

Spiritus

More about : rate build

October 16, 2012 6:55:19 PM