Fan making a clicking noise randomly. help?

Xiael

Distinguished
Oct 22, 2011
Hey guys, one of my fans has been making an annoying clicking noise almost like it was hitting a wire or something.. but I was able to identify which one it is, and there doesn't seem to be anything obstructing the fan. It also doesn't happen all the time. is it dying? what do I do? I had my computer custom made.. so I haven't actually put a computer together before and I'm not very experienced with how it works. I've done minor things like adding a sound card, but that's about it. Here's some pictures.. What is this fan for?
P.S I know my computer is dusty but I know how to fix that :p

0qPBfdT.jpg

nvlU25z.jpg

i8KfCtc.jpg

Solution
If you cannot find an external, physical reason for the click, it is probably the bearings going bad or an electrical issue, I would say probably the bearings. That is your heatsink fan, which is very important in keeping your CPU cool. I would buy a new one and replace it, you will simply have to unfasten it (it probably has small metal clips), taking note of where it is plugged in (probably a header labeled CPU-FAN), you will then clip the new fan on and plug it into the previously occupied header. Obviously, make sure the PC is off and that you ground yourself before touching anything. Also, fans are pretty cheap, but the more you pay the higher air pressure it will provide and lower noise levels as well.

chugot9218

Honorable