Sign in with
Your question

"Underperforming" GTX 590 - Significant CPU/GPU bottleneck??

Tags:
  • Graphics Cards
  • Graphics
  • Product
Last response: in Graphics & Displays
August 23, 2012 9:20:33 PM

Ok so I've read loads and loads of posts from tom's and been amazed at the wealth of knowedge available from the community on here, but I've finally taken the plunge and joined, I'm a newbie here so please be kind!

Apologies, bit of a story but please read:

Essentially, my system until very recently comprised of the following:

Intel Q9450 on Asus P5Q with Noctua NH-U12P CPU Cooler, Geil "Black Dragon" DDR2 1066Mhz memory in Dual channel mode with timings 5-5-5-15, both of the above overclocked to 3.6 Ghz and 1076Mhz respectively and stable for 12hrs in Prime95 on blend setting. O/S: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit Case: NZXT Tempest Evo, PSU: Jeantech 700w Modular, Graphics: Nvidia 9800 GTX+, Sound: HT Omega Claro, Storage: Samsung 1.4tb, 2x Western Digital 36GB Raptors in RAID0 Configuration, 1x Western Digital Caviar 320GB

I lovingly built the system myself and don't have money to upgrade often so I buy my parts with a view to making them last rather than upgrading every 5 minutes. I recently got some money for an upgrade however and I thought "I know CPUs haved moved on a bit since the core2quad days but this beast is clocked at 3.6 Ghz and I want to game and can't aford a completely new build, what can i swap to make this machine perform amazingly in games?" I'd been REALLY REALLY fed up at low frame rates and micro stutter with some games such as Metro2033 and FarCry2, and I love Metro2033 and wanted to be able to play it in DX11 on max settings, so I decided to upgrade the graphics card.