These temperatures normal?

Ono

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2002
Ok i just recently put together this computer, using an asus P4T533 mobo, 1.8A p4 northwood and im using a volcano7+ hsf with arctic silver 3, currently have one 80 mm exhaust case fan going (with another 80mm exhaust and an 80mm intake to be added shortly) and the intake and exhaust fans in my enermax whisper 350watt psu. Ok now im running a program that came with the mobo called Asus Probe 2 to get my temp and at idle i was getting around 35-37 degrees C and while runnin prime95 to test full load its gone up to as high as 45 degrees C (with the board itself reading at around 37 idle and 41 load). Now i kno that the Arctic silver 3 paste takes a day or 2 to get worked in or something so that might take the temp down a bit ( comp first went online at around 9pm est last night). Now as im fairly new to this i was wondering if this is a normal temp?

Ono

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2002
yeah i was hopin that was the case....... i should have an 80mm intake case fan added tomorrow ... plus another 80mm exhaust. Tho i have a question... the way my case is situated that intake fan isnt a direct fan... so to speak. As the front of the case blocks the fans intake holes... but it doesnt keep it from drawing air... as the facing of the case is an inch or so away from the chassis and allows air to flow up from the floor threw the space between the face and the chassis to the intake holes, now is this going to cause a problem with the air flow? I mean its still drawing air... just not directly... And another question.... i was planning on overclocking this 1.8 to 2.4 ghz sometime this week.... what kind of temperatures should i expect? Or at least what temperatures should i be striving for?

lhgpoobaa

Illustrious
Dec 31, 2007
i personally think intake fans are pretty useless...
if the back ones are doing their job properly then airflow thru the case should be good.

and 45C is a great temp for a P4 willy at full load.