Upgrading from Athlon II x2 250 to Phenom 965 BE

zen78

Honorable
Mar 2, 2013
Hi there!

Im a total novice when it comes to processors (and most hardware) but Im concidering upgrading my CPU. The reason being that I upgraded my GFX+RAM last week, but noticed that instead of graphicslag my processor were bottlenecking my gaming experience. So here I am with a few questions.

First off, here's my specs:

MB: GF615M-P33 (MS 7597)

GFX: EVGA GTX650Ti

RAM: 8GB Kingston @ 1333

CPU: AMD Athlon II x2 250

PSU: 500W

Keyboard: An old crappy one with a cord so short it gets in the way of my mousemovements and a spacebar so unsensitive I have to bash it to work. Not relevant at all, just whining a bit...

I use the computer for gaming (mostly, if not only, Diablo 3 atm), watching streams, listening to music and watching movies, often many of these at the same time.

Now to my questions. If I were to upgrade to a AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition will I notice a big difference? The only coparison review I found on the web involving Diablo 3 were: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/diablo-iii-performance-benchmark,3195-6.html. Now Im running at lowest settings both ingame and in Nvidia control panel and get a whooping 60fps MAX (while idle in town etc) but ~30 fps in combat. The review set the Phenom at an avarege of 112 fps, which must mean that it will be a GREAT upgrade, but please confirm.

As long as Im talking about comparisons, I also found this: http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1037/1/. For a ignorant prick like myself it all looks like greek to me. What Im curious about is this:

The Phenom is running .4GHz faster. Is that much in the world of processors?