Sign in with
Your question

BirthDay Build Questions & Concerns

Last response: in Systems
October 19, 2012 3:58:03 AM

First off Ill put a little personal disclamier up here saying that im New to Tom's Hardware and if i posted this in the wrong Place/Format i Apologize. i Just found this Site Recently and it seems Great for Advice/Help

Ill be Hopefully Buying and Building a New Gaming/Rendering and ALL-Round Pc in late november this year and have some concerns

What ive looked through and am thinking of buying a

Core i7 3770K (with Hyper 212 EVO [not included in price])
Msi Z77A-G45
4x2 GB of Mushking Frostbyte 1.5V 1600mhz 9-9-9-24 DDR3
120Gb Mushkin Chronos (Main OS/Games/Programs) (i have a copy of win 7 already)
MSI Geforce GTX 660 OC Twin Frozor 3
Seasonic M12II 620W Bronze
Bitfenix Ghost

The Concerns i have are over Reliability and Expandability.

I plan on Building this to later expand as i get money but for now im limited to 1000-1100 Canadian Dollars before Taxes, ill be getting More memory and another gtx660 early next year.

so To List my Worries out

1. Im worried ABout the SSD reliability and having enough space for what i might do
2. im worried about the MotherBoard Handling an OC (i will get a cooler)
3. im worried about the power supply/MOBO handling 2 GFX cards in SLI and im also hoping there wont be any compatibility issues i missed
4. and as an aftherthough for Gaming i know the 3770k is a bit of overkill but ill be using it for rendering 3D/Pics/Video and im not sure how well a 3570K would hold out

Sorry if i bothered anyone but this is going to be my First Full* Build and im a little worried, any help and/or Suggestions of better Hardware, Issues i might have ect... would be awesome!

Thanks to anyone who helps me out- Kevin
October 19, 2012 4:08:47 AM

BeyondNight said: