Sign in with
Your question

How to I tell if my Video Card went Kaput?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
August 25, 2012 7:27:12 PM

Hey all,

Built my first computer approximately 2 months ago and all was running fine up until yesterday. Went to fire it up and all I heard was that initial click then nothing happened. So I popped off the sides took out the extra peripherals (wireless and firewire cards), disconnected the hard drives and disc drives and started it up, but I get no signal from the video card to the monitor.

All the case fans and lights are on and its been running for 20 minutes without shutting off. Still a total noob when it comes to diagnosing problems with this thing.

Specs:

ASUS Rampage IV Extreme LGA 2011 Extended ATX MoBo
Intel Core i7-390x Sandy Bridge Processor
EVGA GeForce GTX 670 <---- the most likely culprit.
64gb G.SKILL Ripjaws Z series DDR3 1333

More about : video card kaput

August 25, 2012 7:30:41 PM

Do you get a signal when the screen is connected to the motherboard? Also, why do you need so much RAM?
m
l
August 25, 2012 7:35:47 PM

Unfortunately, the mother board doesn't have onboard video. I got so much RAM because I got the rig to do Video and Motion Graphics work and to play games maxed out, but mostly for video work lol. I'm taking the card to my friend's place to see if it works in his machine later this week so I guess that's one way to test the card.
m
l
Related resources
August 25, 2012 7:38:53 PM

The CPU should have onboard graphics. It is all on the CPU nowadays. 8GB is more than enough for games.
m
l
August 25, 2012 7:41:27 PM

Just a heads up the fan on the card is spinning but still no signal. Working with adobe after effects I've noticed that the more RAM the better, the workflow is unbearable on 4gb to 8gb machines.
m
l
August 25, 2012 7:48:20 PM

RAM drive FTW!