Shutdowns during gaming only

Biom

Honorable
Oct 14, 2012
First off, I apologize if I'm posting in the wrong thread.

SPECS:
CM 690 II Advanced Case (5 exhaust, 2 intake fans @ 39.77 CFM each)
i5-3570K @ 3.4Ghz w/ CM Hyper N520 Heatsink
16 GBs DDR3 @ 1600Mhz (Patriot G3 series)
MSI Twin Frozr III R7870 @ 1050Mhz GPU Clock & 1200Mhz Mem. Clock
GA-Z77-D3H
Raidmax 650W
Corsair Force 3 SSD w/ Windows 7 Profressional
Seagate Barracuda Slim 320 GB 7200rpm
2x 1920x1080 Monitors (1x 23.6" HDMI, 1x 21.5" DVI-I)

All components have been kept at stock values except for GPU fans which are clocked at 100%

So I've had my build up for about a two months now and it has been running quite well. Now, I purchased my GPU about 2 weeks after the initial build of my computer and experienced no problems until I started playing SWTOR. What typically happens is that I will be playing for a random amount of time and then my computer will freeze like I've received a BSOD but won't display any error on the screen, instead blacking out the screens and maintaining power to all fans, lights, and USB devices.

Upon checking my Event Viewer with no related errors and confirming this with Nirsoft Bluescreen Viewer, I decided to test whether or not my computer was overheating so I monitored my gameplay with both Speedfan v4.47 and CCC v12.3 (I dust the interior or my case and clean the filters about every 2 weeks, but I cleaned them again for my subsequent testing). All temperatures were normal (GPU fluctuating between 45-56c) during this, yet I still had another shutdown, again randomly at no distinct part of my session. Today I tested whether or not it was my graphics settings causing the issue (High, no AA and grass/tree/shadow texture off), so I reduced the graphics to 'Very Low'. The resulting temps were lower as you might expect, but this time my computer lagged then posted a 0x116 BSOD listing atikmag.sys as the issue. In response, I installed the driver provided with the disk.