Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Thoughts on this Build???

Last response: in Systems
October 24, 2012 6:46:35 AM

Hi All!! :D 

I am new to this website and new to building PCs and new to PC understanding the hardware and software in general; and i would like to say thank you in advance for your help. I am planning to use this computer for photo editing, some video editing/compressing/exporting, video encoding, gaming (BFME2, COH, MOH:A, MOH2010, BFBC2, and similar), movie watching, CD and DVD burning, and normal office use. I don't want to have to upgrade this PC again for at least another few years. So having durable but still powerful and new equipment is imperative.

I am currently in the process of choosing parts to build a new PC. Here are the parts that i am looking at, let me know what you think. Please be critical but don't go hating on me :p  ... I'm very new to this haha. Btw, though, I am trying to hover around $650, less is better; so if you have any suggestions for change keep that in mind. (or if you know of a better part for a cheaper price, that would be even better!)

I'm not planning on overclocking at all.

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz 77W ($219) [do you think getting the 3570K is worth it? Or should i just go with the 3570?] OR Intel Core i3-3220 3.3GHz 55W ($119)
I can't decide which one would be the best value for the money :heink: 
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...u7469zuSHnoGPg

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...NKSHARE&cm_mmc _o=-ddCjC1bELltzywCjC-d2CjCdwwp&AffiliateID=8BacdVP0GFs-mDi35hIqlQfE4B5FVMPIKA

Motherboard: Biostar TZ77B ATX LGA1155 ($87)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...D=3938566&SID=

Memory: (I am recycling 6 Gbs of memory from my old computer, my friend told me this would be ok to do, but i just want to be sure.)
PNY OPTIMA 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel Kit DDR2 667 MHz
Hynix (2x1GB) PC2 - 6400 (<--i dont know much about these modules because they came with my old PC)