Sign in with
Your question

Mini itx or mAtx gaming build

Last response: in Systems
October 24, 2012 9:27:55 PM

This is my first build for a decent gaming desktop which has to be portable with less noise and heat issues. I am mostly concerned about the case I should choose for a portable one. I see that a lot of reviews say that I should atleast use a mAtx mid tower. I am looking for something small and portable.

Some components that I decided are

Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor
Corsair XMS3 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
Nvidia 660 Ti 2GB Graphic Card

I will be thinking about the motherboard and the PSU after deciding on the case. Can some one suggest me a good, decent and importantly a portable desktop case. I am looking for something which is 12" x 5" x 12" . smaller the better. I am also open to cases with other dimensions as long as they are not pretty big.

Thanks!
a c 271 4 Gaming
October 25, 2012 12:00:51 AM

An mITX build will have a very limited lifespan due to the lack of proper air flow. If you get an mATX build with say a Fractal Design Arc MINI that will last you a few years no problem.

As far as your chosen components go - get G.Skill Ares RAM instead of Corsair XMS, and get the Radeon 7950 instead of the 660TI.
m
l
a b 4 Gaming
October 25, 2012 1:16:29 AM

matx is the way to go. generally better power delivery circuitry, more expansion and more compatable products

id get a set of gskill ripjaws x at newegg. 34.99 is a pretty good deal

and i would also get a 7870 instead of a 660ti. performs very close to a 7950 while being 70 bucks cheaper. there is a xfx 7870 that is selling for 209.99 after MIR at newegg

i go seagate but WD has a longer warranty
m
l
Related resources
a c 271 4 Gaming
October 25, 2012 1:19:16 AM

TheBigTroll said:
matx is the way to go. generally better power delivery circuitry, more expansion and more compatable products