Gaming pc build forums

Status
Not open for further replies.

dssq

Honorable
Oct 25, 2012
Hello guys,

I have been researching into building a gaming PC for a $1500 budget. My budget includes a monitor and a keyboard. Here is the permalink

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/ldoJ

I'd appreciate any input and recommendations on how I can improve this rig. I am looking for something that I can upgrade in the future without swapping out to many things. I am still debating on the HD because I do not want it to bottle neck my system. I plan on overclocking the RAM hence the 2133 Mhz ram.

It is my first build and journey into PC building and overclocking. Suggestions are welcome. Thanks

^Don't get either one of those....well the monitor is nice. While the computer itself is decent, Cyberpower tends to use cheaper parts in regions that shouldn't be, like the power supply.

As it is, your build looks pretty solid. If you are going to overclock heavily, you might want a nicer cooler. If not, then you should be fine with the 212 Plus.

Your build with a few changes:
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($189.99 @ Microcenter)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($24.99 @ NCIX US)
Motherboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4 ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($129.37 @ Newegg)
Storage: Samsung 830 Series 256GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($169.99 @ Newegg)
Video Card: Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 3GB Video Card ($386.97 @ Newegg)
Case: Corsair 500R White ATX Mid Tower Case ($101.93 @ Mac Connection)
Power Supply: XFX 750W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($79.98 @ NCIX US)
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer ($24.98 @ Newegg)
Monitor: Asus VS239H-P 23.0" Monitor ($164.99 @ Newegg)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 8 (OEM) (64-bit) ($99.99 @ Mac Mall)
Keyboard: Lite-On SK-1788/BS Wired Standard Keyboard ($14.97 @ Newegg)
Total: $1388.15