Your question

Built new PC, restarts under load

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
October 26, 2012 5:59:19 AM

Just built a new PC. First time I ever built a PC from scratch, but I know what I was doing for the most part.

Was testing it out all day, getting windows updates, drivers, and gauging performance of the new Processor. One time I tried rendering a Video in Sony Vegas (High CPU/Ram Usage), and the screen went black, heard a zzt sound, and the computer rebooted.

Turned PC back on, tried rendering again, it worked out perfectly fine.
Played some games for a couple hours. Started playing a PS2 Emulator, again, high cpu usage. After 5-10 minutes of that, Screen went black, zzzt sound, PC Rebooted.
Turn PC back on, try a windows experience index test, black screen, zzzt, PC Rebooted.

It's beginning to happen more and more frequently. I'm somewhat new at building my own PC, and I'm wondering what would be the cause of it. The PSU works fine, I tested it out on someone else's computer which uses a little more power than this one. It looks like it could be the Mobo, Processor, or the Ram.

I tried On-board video too (Radeon HD 3000, and it still happens)

Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W Power Supply: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Processor: AMD FX-6200 Black Edition Six-Core 3.8 GHz
(PROCESSOR IDLES AT 15-30C, AND AVERAGES 30-42C UNDER USE, STOCK COOLER)

GPU: 1GB BFG 9800GT (Eco Edition, no external connector, only pulls from PCI-E)

Ram: G Skill F3-12800-CL8-TU-6GBPI (Using 4GB, only 2 DIMS on mobo, tried auto clocks and I also tried manually setting the clocks. Also tried both 1.6v and 1.65v, neither made a difference) (It's 1.6~1.65v ram)

320 GB Seagate Barracuda Sata Drive

Help anyone? What should I return here, or attempt to fix?

More about : built restarts load

a b B Homebuilt system
October 26, 2012 6:13:57 AM