What cpu and motherboard can i upgrade too

lilshane757

Honorable
Mar 10, 2013
Hello,
Im a little new to upgrading computers. And i recently have needed to upgrade my computers processor and mobo. My question is how do i know which mobo and processor my computer can hold.
I currently have a dell xps 625 With the amd x2 5600 2.85 ghz processor.
Another question is how good of a motherboard and processor can my bios support. Being the old dell 1.0.2 bios.

lilshane757

Honorable
Mar 10, 2013
Sorry for the non being very smart in the matter. Just trying to clean a few things up, so thanks for the time.
When i buy a different processor/motherboard, it will need an entirely different bios?

And the xps 625 case is fairly big. Im not sure of the size of the motherboard.
Is there a limit to what motherboard/processor i can put into (i.e. enough power supply/will my hard drive, and disks drives work on the new motherboard/ other compatible parts)

lilshane757

Honorable
Mar 10, 2013
I know im not much help not knowing alot, But im simply just looking for an upgrade from a dual core, to a quadcore. And a upgrade mobo, cause mines max is 8 gigs and im looking for 16.
Will a new amd fx quad 3.8 ghz with matching mobo work properly in my computer?

lilshane757

Honorable
Mar 10, 2013
THe power supply is max 750 watts. I now understand the mobo/processor issue.
And have found that any standard atx mobo will fit into my case.
And when you say ide drives are now obsolete? Does that mean that i have one in my computer and should upgrade to a SATA hard drive along with the processor and mobo upgrade. Or am i fine with the 500gb hard drive thats in it now.

Im just a little confused on exactly what processor and board i should purchase, I dont want to spend money on something and it not fit/ or mess up my computer in the process.
Again thanks for the time :)