I need advice on a new programming/gaming rig

eVgAfTw1231

Honorable
Oct 26, 2012
budget Range: 1700-2000

System Usage from Most to Least Important: HardCore Gaming, Benching, Programming

Are you buying a monitor: Not Sure yet

Parts to Upgrade: None need everything new

Do you need to buy OS: No

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg.com

Location: City, State/Region, Country - Mooresville North Carolina 28115

Parts Preferences: Intel CPU, EVGA Graphics (Please No Radeon), Need a Good Case, Would Like either an EVGA Board or Gigabyte Board the cheaper the better

Overclocking: Yes

SLI or Crossfire: Yes

Your Monitor Resolution: What ever Battlefield 3 and SWTOR will look the Sexiest at.

Additional Comments: I need a good gaming Keyboard, Mouse, Headset, Lots of bling to show off to inferior friends and family, Cool System I dont want an indoor heater.

I am a college student getting a degree in Programming so I will need a good enough PC go get me through for the next year or two. I will also like to SLI I also need a PSU.

malbluff

Honorable
You should appreciate that there is little point to someone designing a PC, with "bling", for someone else, as what may be "cool" to one person, may be "ugly", or downright ridiculous, to someone else. It's best to design a system, to have the right performance, and sensible, and then "bling" can be added, or, for instance, case changed to something more flashy. I have worked on that basis. The one concession, I have made to "bling", is to use a good Phanteks cooler, that you can get in a variety of colours, if you wish to use a case, with a side window.
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($169.99 @ Microcenter)
CPU Cooler: Phanteks PH-TC14PE_RD 60.1 CFM CPU Cooler ($99.99 @ Newegg)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($179.99 @ Amazon)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($39.99 @ Newegg)