Sign in with
Your question

First system (Ivy Bridge gaming)

Last response: in Systems
October 27, 2012 2:06:20 AM

Background, Motivation, and Modus Operandi: I have recently graduated from college, and to celebrate I have decided to build a nice gaming rig to replace my four-year-old Dell laptop. This will be my first time building a system, so the entire build is from scratch. My main criteria in component selection are quality and performance, with a secondary emphasis on aesthetics. I would like the help of veteran system builders to evaluate my proposed build and point out hardware conflicts or suggest different components, if necessary.
*Please also keep in mind that I'm new to this, and very possibly might say some stupid things or overlook some obvious things; I would appreciate it if you point this out to me if I do.

System Usage (from most to least important): Gaming, Media enjoyment (watching videos/listening to music), Office/work functions, Internet browsing

Games: I am a fan of MMOs, such as WOW, TOR and GW2. I also play LOL, and I've enjoyed playing games like the Mass Effect series, the Assassin's Creed series, Dragon Age, and other RPG-type games. I don't anticipate running any other demanding software: just Microsoft Office, Itunes, VLC, Skype...nothing incredible.

Budget Range: circa $2000; quality concerns me more than price, but if I can reduce the price without sacrificing quality or performance then I'm happy to do so.

Build: I'm dividing this into two sections: the core build and peripherals/other components. Other than using a copy of Windows 7 Ultimate that I already have, I will not mention software. I am planning to purchase the majority of the components from newegg.com, but I am willing to buy elsewhere if I can get the same parts for less money.

Core Build:

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4000 BX80637I53570K