Sign in with
Your question

INSTALL LINUX OR UNIX WITH XP INSTALLED?

Tags:
  • Unix
  • Linux
  • Windows XP
Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
January 20, 2002 9:50:52 PM

hey guys,
i'm pretty new to teh linux/unix environment.. and i need it installed and running(unix preferably)
but the thing is that i have winXP installed, adn my hard drive is formatted with the FAT file system, so can i safely install unix? coz there is no power on this earth that could get me unistalling xp for unix....not today!
any recommendations?

More about : install linux unix installed

January 20, 2002 10:57:51 PM

I have posted this information at least 4 times before. You will find it if you search for "boot" in this forum...

Do you know what the difference between Linux and Unix is?

If you do not have your hard drive partitioned, you will need to partition it...This will erase the data on your drive...Just be aware...

"If you teach a child to read, then he or her will be able to pass a literacy test" - George W.
January 20, 2002 11:13:39 PM

if i have my hard partitioned?what a question.....
i have xp installed how could i install anything on my drive without partitions..even if it's one!
i just know that unix/linux uses it's own partition i think or there is something aboiut partitions under unix/linux that i was told to be aware of... and i don't want a single file gone here.. i'll just freak out!
and then who the hell is mandrake? or lilo? what are you talking about here....
Related resources
January 21, 2002 1:00:36 AM

Like Red_Zealot said, the info has been posted a few times... A HOWTO is online at www.linuxdoc.org, too.

To summarise, here what you need to do:
defrag windows.
resize the partition (using the fips.exe application).
install into the new empty space (1 partition for swap, 1 for linux).
set up lilo or grub (the boot loaders - the installer should do this anyway).
enjoy.