Do I NEED to build from scratch for my purposes?

cancerousx

Honorable
Oct 23, 2012
I'm having a bit of a dilemma.

Basically, I need a desktop for a reasonable price, and I would like to have it soon. I'm going to be doing some gaming, some writing, normal internet browsing, and photo and music storage. It doesn't need to be top-of-the-line, and I'm not planning on overclocking. I have no knowledge about how to build a computer, and I didn't know a lot about specific parts until a few weeks ago when I started looking into this.

I am leaning toward buying a pre-built computer and upgrading the PSU and the graphics card myself. In my opinion, that is a good first step toward learning how to actually build a computer myself (which is a skill I want to have). I think I need that extra step before I would ever attempt to successfully build a computer completely from scratch.

The computer has the i3-2130 processor, which has a speed of 3.40 GHz. I've looked at the motherboard specs, and if that processor isn't strong enough I can upgrade that to an Ivy Bridge too. It already comes installed with 8GB of RAM, although that's it's maximum.

The dilemma comes from everyone (except one person, the person who put this idea into my head in the first place) telling me that it's better to build my own. I'm not sure if they're biased or if that's legitimately the best option for a relevant reason I have overlooked.

I just don't see the NEED to build from scratch at this point.

lt_dan_zsu

Honorable
May 3, 2012
Why you build from scratch is, it is a fun hobby, it is way cheaper, escpecially compared to oem company like hp. Pre built isn't that much more if you buy from newegg though. Also getting a psu and gpu extra is going to be a huge waste of money becuase in the prebuilt you are also paying for those parts. I just started building pc's this year, and it's not that bad. Here is a helpful tutorial for the first time you build one.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d_56kyib-Ls