Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Gaming PC with budget of $1400-$1500

Last response: in Systems
October 27, 2012 8:24:47 PM

Hello, I am planning on buying a gaming PC soon and could use all the help I can get. I've never built a PC before myself, so I decided to turn to you guys to ensure I get the best deal for my price range.

Approximate Purchase Date: The closest I could buy it is about November 7th-8th, I am strongly considering waiting until Black Friday to see if I can get some better deals and increase my spending power. I am not sure if it is worth it to wait though, I could use some advice in that regard.

Budget Range: $1400-$1500 after rebates and shipping, if a total comes a little higher I will take it under consideration though.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: (Gaming, watching movies, schoolwork, etc).

Are you buying a monitor: Yes. I am in the market for a 32' television that can fit my needs for gaming and watching movies. I didn't count it in the total, but I would prefer to spend somewhere in the range of $400-$600 for one. If anyone knows of one, I would appreciate it.

Parts to Upgrade: I have a laptop, so I don't have anything to contribute in this regard.

Do you need to buy OS: No, I already bought the standard OEM windows 8 for $69.99 because it was on sale at Newegg.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg, Amazon is a possibility but I hate paying tax at Amazon because I live in Washington.

Parts Preferences: by brand or type: I have heard excellent things about both Intel and Nvidia, so I am looking to get either an I5 or I7 (not too sure which one is more cost efficient compared to power), and either a Nvidia GTX660 or 670. If you have other suggestions though, I would be more than happy to hear them.

Overclocking: Maybe. I'm not planning on doing it right away, but I probably will when I need to.

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe when sometime down the road when I want to give it a boost.