Multiple monitors and Blu-Ray on an HP DC5700 MT Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 160 GB HD

Status
Not open for further replies.

SaintAnselm

Honorable
Sep 1, 2012
Hello,
I would like to add a Blu-Ray drive and a second monitor to my HP DC5700. I am a graduate student who often needs two monitors to read from one text one one monitor and type a Word document in a different monitor (something I can do at school but would like to do also at home).
There are also occasions when my wife likes to spend time with me while I work in the computer room, but wants to watch a Blu-Ray at the same time.
Is it possible to get a new video card that will support two monitors such that my wife can watch Blu-Ray in one while I type in the other?
A friend of mine who knows more about computers than I do suggested the HIS H645H2GD1 video card upgrade because I am limited to pcie x 1, but the reviews for that card on Amazon and New Egg were poor.
I also read here that pcie x 1 was a real liability for video performance, though it may be that this is only a problem for gaming rather than Blu-Ray.
Finally, I have a couple of old non-flatscreen MacIntosh monitors from an old Mac I used to use that I would like to possibly use as the screen for typing, so I wondered if anyone knows a video card upgrade that would work well to use a Mac and a PC monitor in tandem.
Thanks in advance for any help any of you are willing to provide.
Best wishes.
Sincerely,
J.

Solution
What type of machine and/or motherboard are you using for these upgrades? A motherboard that relies solely on a PCIe x1 slot for graphics upgrades is interesting.

Edit: The previous gen HIS H545H1GD1 Radeon HD 5450 doesn't seem to have the overheating/performance problems of the 6450. Some people claim to use it for light gaming with few problems.