Sign in with
Your question

Budget render station for architectural visualization

Last response: in Systems
October 28, 2012 5:27:37 PM

Hey guys,

I'm an architecture student looking for advice on building a station for architectural visualization. Most guides I found on the web are geared towards high end animation and video-editing, and most of it is hugely out of date. So I'm hoping to find some knowledgeable people here that can provide advice on new hardware that won't cost me half a year's rent.

Approximate Purchase Date: As soon as everything's decided.

Budget Range: $1600, possibly a couple hundred more. The cheaper the better!

System Usage from Most to Least Important: 3D work/rendering (3Ds max with Mental Ray, Maya, Rhino with Grasshopper, Sketchup) large-scale 2D work (Photoshop, Illustrator, AutoCAD)

Are you buying a monitor: Yes

Do you need to buy OS: No

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Amazon.

Location: City, State/Region, Country - San Francisco, California

Parts Preferences: Non.

Overclocking: Maybe, never done it before.

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe, if there's a good reason.

Your Monitor Resolution: No preference. Priority is on clarity and color accuracy

Additional Comments: Top priorities are render speed and stability. I really can't afford to have crashes in the middle of a render and I need to churn out good quality work en masse to meet deadlines. Pluses: Quiet (will be using it at night)

And Most Importantly, Why Are You Upgrading: Preferably, I would not buy a new computer at all, but school computers are a joke, and my 15" macbook pro is on the verge of exploding every time I work. :\ So I'm actually looking for a support render station that can supplement my macbook pro for work that is out of its performance range.

Thanks for reading and thanks for helping!
October 28, 2012 5:43:44 PM