Sign in with
Your question

Computer upgrade for Graphic design student

Last response: in Systems
October 28, 2012 6:34:24 PM

Hello everyone, I am Vuk, graphic design student. I want to upgrade my computer.

Here is list of questions from forum:
-Approximate Purchase Date: Aprox. next week
-System Usage: Graphic design, in first row Adobe Illustrator, InDesign & Photoshop. From time to time some editing in PremierePro. I dont play any games.
Parts Not Required: Keyborad, Mouse, Monitor, DVD/RW, Case, HDD
Preferred Website for Parts: I am not from USA, so pick whatever you want I just need to see specs
Overclocking: Maybe
SLI or Crossfire: Not sure what this is
Additional Comments: I am total noob for motherboards, so please help me with some details that are important when taking motherboard.

Here are configuration combinations that I need help with:
Combination 1 (suited for OC):
Processor i5 3570k
RAM 2x4GB Kingston HyperX CL11 @2400MHz
Motherboard with Z77 chip that supports RAM with 2400 MHz that is suitable for OC
PSU 600W from Seasonic or Corsair

Combination 2 (not suited for OC) :
Processor i5 (3330/3450/3470)
RAM 2x4GB Kingston HyperXBlue @1600mhz
Motherboard with (not sure) chip that supports RAM with 1600 MHz that is not suitable for OC
PSU 600W from Seasonic or Corsair

My question is, do I need Combination 1 if I work in Adobe programs. Is Combination 2 "enough" for taking care about my regular actions in Adobe. Or is there some third combination that could be compromise between those 2 that I posed? What is cost cut on Combination 2 compared to Combination 1?

I want cheapest motherboards available, but still with some quality features. Installation of SSD and lower-end graphic card in future is possible.
October 28, 2012 9:43:38 PM

I'll go with Combination 2. You have the latest CPU technology, nice amount of RAM(12 would be nice to forget about upgrading!)