[New Build] Good gaming and editing PC under $600

qzyxya

Honorable
Oct 10, 2012
this is my first build so i am a TOTAL noob at this.

What I'm thinking
AMD Phenom 955/655 (not sure which is better, same price) - $90
AM3+ Mobo 990x (ASrock) - $130 but with free 8gb ram (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157281)
GTX 560 Ti - $159 with rebate
I have no idea what PSU
Cooler Master HAF 912 (not sure about htis one either) - $50
standard optical drive - $10-20

Could someone tell me if this would make a good build for mostly editing in adobe premiere pro and after effects, with a little gaming on the side (BF3, skyrim, tf2, bfbc2, a bunch of othergames)? Would I benefit from a more expensive processor like the AMD 8 cores or an intel i5? I want the GTX 560 for the CUDA support, and because the TI version is available for only $160. I am thinking the 990x mobo because it has support for up to 32gb of ram, so I can upgrade to that in the future If I need that much (i've talked to a bunch of people who say after effects and 3d rendering can chew through ram really fast). Is there another option that is better for the money? Also could someone recommend a good case for a noob like me? This is my first build, and I'd like one with a good amount of cooling built in, and maybe a good amount of space so I can expand and fit more into it.

Would I be better off going on the intel boat? Pls someone reply.

malbluff

Honorable
AMD vs Intel depends on what application you're looking at. Adobe software uses multicore, so the more cores, the better, so although each AMD core is not as efficient, as Intel, as you get more cores, for your buck, the better AMD's can outperform Intel in video work. On the other hand, most gaming applications, are only single, or low core number applications, so Intel's more efficient cores whip AMD. It's slightly a question of which is more important.