Upgrading a HP Slimline s3707c GFX Card

bluelite88

Honorable
Sep 2, 2012
Hey guys, I have an HP s3707c Slimline desktop computer. I want to upgrade it to a GT610. I'm not very good at compatibility stuff, so I'ma post the details and hope one of you guys can tell me if it would work. My current issues are; 1. The size of the card. If it doesn't fit in the desktop, I'm sort of SOL. 2. Will it be too much heat for the comp to handle w/o the assistance of a small fan? I HAVE a small fan next to it right now, cooling from the side, since I OC this computer to play some Diablo 3. Third. Will I need a power supply upgrade? My guess is YES on this, but I had a couple of friends tell me they upgraded several generations and didn't have a problem. Anyways, here's the details.

Product Number: FQ578AA

Introduction Date: 24-Nov-2008

Country/Region sold in: United States::Canada

Bundle Information: Included with purchase was a [w2007 20" lcd wide-screen monitor with integrated speakers]

Hardware

Base Processor: Athlon 64 X2 (B) 5400+ 2.8GHz (65W) -- 800 MHz Front Side bus::Socket AM2

Chipset: GeForce 9100

Motherboard: Manufacturer was Pegatron::Motherboard name is [APX78-BN]::HP/Compaq Motherboard name is [Nutmeg-GL6E]

Power Supply: 160W

Memory
Memory Installed -- 4GB
Maximum Allowed -- 4GB* (2 x 2 GB)
Speed Supported -- PC2-6400 MB/sec
Type -- 240 Pin, DDR2
*Actual available memory may be less

Hard drive: 500GB SATA 3G (3.0 GB/sec)::7200 rpm

DVD+/-R/RW 16X 12X +/-DL LS 12X RAM SuperMulti SATA Drive: (Lots of BS here)

Modem: PCIe Internal Modem

Video Graphics: Integrated onto motherboard

Sound/Audio: (Unimportant)

Network/LAN: Integrated 10/100 Base-T Networking Interface

And now the worst part....The ports

External I/O Ports

Front Panel:
[1] 15-in-1 (4 slot)
[2] USB
[1] Headphone

Rear Panel:
[2] PS/2 (keyboard, mouse)
[1] S/PDIF out (coaxial)
[1] VGA
[1] DVI
[4] USB
[1] 1394a
[1] LAN
[1 each] Audio (line in, line out, microphone)

Expansion Slots