Jakester93

Distinguished
Oct 30, 2012
Hi, I'm new to Tom's Hardware and I saw that a lot of good people are here who are willing to help people out! :)

I'm looking to get a new PC soon that can handle gaming as well, the PC I have now..well lets just say it can run minecraft on low specs haha!

Budget: $1200 (Of course cheaper is better) (No monitor is needed)

I want this computer to last me a while and not need an upgrade within the next year.

I'm not sure all the games I will play yet, but here are some I will be playing: (Though of course I will play others)
-Arma II
-Arma III
-Dayz
-Warz
-Battlefield
-Steam Games
-Origin Games
-Minecraft
-Terraria
-GTA
Etc...

Now let me say this, I have never built a computer before! I have no idea on where to start or how to build one AT ALL. Now I know some people say it's easy, but I'm scared if I did build one myself I would mess something up!

I've heard of websites such as Ibuypower and Cyberpowerpc, have you heard good/bad things about these companies? I really don't want to run into trouble and deal with dificulties.

I also know tha Frys would build a computer for $100.

I want to know what you guys recommend I should do, and also what parts would be best for my gaming pc?

THANK YOU SO MUCH!

Also some last questions!

I want to futureproof as much as possible..now I know you cant completely do this but I want to do the best I can.

1. i5 vs i7 Processor is it a big difference should i go with i7?

2. Nvidia vs. AMD Graphics pros and cons? What do you recommend?

3. Ram...as far as wanting a build to last, should I go with 16gb?

4. Is there a big difference between NVIDIA GTX 670 vs GTX 680...and then again or is AMD better?

Again...thank you!

Building a computer is easy. I built my first one at 14 with a screwdriver (well, re-built but still) and just a screwdriver.

The hardest thing for me usually is the cable management. If you want it to look good, you have to take the time to route some cables around.