Which is better value?

matthewh133

Distinguished
Jun 20, 2009
a24q9v.png

Keep in mind these are Aus prices, hence why they are expensive. Which is the better value? Gaming and photo editing (CS6). Plan to SLI/X-Fire in the future.

EDIT: I should also mention I'm using a 2560 x 1440 resolution monitor.

greghome

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2009
Personally, I'd get the Sapphire 7970.....simply because it's Sapphire :D
but seriously, both cards would do fine, when OC'ed both will match the GTX680.

However, my main reason for getting the 7970 is that you can just flash the GHZ edition BIOs onto it and make magic ( I think you cna at least )

plus you get 2 free games.

From a gaming point of view, the GTX670 and 7970 are comparable.
For CS6, I think it can make use of the CUDA capability of nvidia cards. I am no expert there, so check it out.

As to your planning on sli, here is my canned rant on that:
Dual graphics cards vs. a good single card.

a) How good do you really need to be?
A single GTX560 or 6870 can give you great performance at 1920 x 1200 in most games.

A single GTX560ti or 6950 will give you excellent performance at 1920 x 1200 in most games.
Even 2560 x 1600 will be good with lowered detail.
A single 7970 or GTX680 is about as good as it gets.

Only if you are looking at triple monitor gaming, then sli/cf will be needed.
Even that is now changing with triple monitor support on top end cards.

b) The costs for a single card are lower.
You require a less expensive motherboard; no need for sli/cf or multiple pci-e slots.
Even a ITX motherboard will do.

Your psu costs are less.
A GTX560ti needs a 450w psu, even a GTX580 only needs a 600w psu.
When you add another card to the mix, plan on adding 150-200w to your psu requirements.
A single more modern 28nm card like a 7970 or GTX680 needs only 550W.
Even the strongest GTX690 only needs 650w.

Case cooling becomes more of an issue with dual cards.
That means a more expensive case with more and stronger fans.