Need help with picking out parts for a pc. First build!

jimwize

Honorable
Oct 6, 2012
First off, I'm a newb. I just got into pc gaming about 4 months ago, when I got a very crappy pc, but still a pc. It was a prebuilt, hp slimline. I hated it. I still do, because its kind of slow, (athlon II x2 250 cpu), integrated 6150se nvidia graphics, 4 gb ram (which is alright), and only a 220 watt psu (no room to grow). I thought i was doomed. Until a thought about building a pc crept into my head. The more I thought about it, the better the idea became- I would build a budget pc that can run some actual games, for under 300 dollars. But I have a problem: im a total newb (as i said before). So i decided to consult you guys. First, I have some questions.

1. Can i build a pc that can run source games, CS GO, dayz/ thewarz, crysis 2, and still have some room to grow for under 300 $?

2. Is it possible for me, a total newb, to build a pc? I've never been very good a assembling things.

3. Is this a good idea? Should I just upgrade my graphics card to an hd 6570 or 6670? (and if so, would they work on my current psu?)

4. Is my pc really that bad?

5. Would I see a DRASTIC increase in speed and gaming performance?

6. What parts should I use to fit my gaming needs? (mid range gaming, nothing too powerful)

To anyone who can answer these demanding questions, i thank you so much. If i'm asking too much from you guys, don't be afraid to say so. And could you guys also answer question 3 even if i should just build it? Just because its been bothering me for a long time. Once again, thanks for any serious replies.

ckholt83

Honorable
Jun 27, 2012
1. Probably not. You'd be looking at closer to $500-600 even for a fairly barebones 'gaming' rig.

2. Absolutely. It seems intimidating, but almost anyone can do this. There are lots of tutorials and videos you can watch to help you prepare. It's mostly like playing with lego.