Computer seems to have forgotten its ethernet adapter

rshiery88

Distinguished
Oct 19, 2011
Hello, I am completely new to tom's, and I hope there is someone in the community who can suggest a solution to my problem.

Last week my PC stopped detecting my home network/internet connection. I run XP Professional on one partition, and Win 7 Ultimate on a second. It is about three years old, runs a COre 2 Quad Q9400 processor, 8 GB ram, and I am using an onboard ethernet adapter.

Neither XP or Win 7 can connect to my network which has been running fine for years, both show the little icon in my task-bar with an x over a computer, meaning no connection.

Here is what I know:

The router is working and the other computers on the network are fine, a MacBook Pro, MacBook, IBM Thinkpad, and Toshiba Satelite all are on the wireless end, and my ATT Micro Cell which is connected to the router by ethernet cable works fine.

When I unplug the ethernet cable from the non-functioning PC and plug it into any of the above systems they work fine and connect without a hitch.

There is no Network Hardware, or Network Devices option in the list of hardware in Device Manager.

If I Click "Change adapter settings" in the Network and Sharing Center, I get a blank window.

When the ethernet cable is plugged into the ethernet cable, I get a solid green LED and a solid amber LED next to the port.

ipconfig/all in Command Prompt i get:
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

D:\Users\My PC>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : MyPC-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface