Help with gaming PC – 3,000 budget – US-bought and overseas assembled

leogobbo

Distinguished
Nov 1, 2012
Hi! :hello:

I am a 27 years old lawyer living in Brazil and getting married on 2013. Because my fiancée is going to the US to buy her wedding dress, this is my opportunity to build a new gaming PC!

I currently have a G73JW notebook, bought 2 years ago, which fulfilled its objectives and now needs to be replaced for high resolution max settings gaming.

So, my intention is to build my new gaming PC. And by build, I mean actually build it – get the parts, put them together, tighten the screws and so forth. Therefore, this build’s objective is twofold: buy an awesome gaming rig AND tickle my maker genes.

I have never really built anything from ground up, but I do know my way around hardware and have no fear of digging in. Here’s my situation:

- I live in Brazil, which means I have no access to the newest PC parts, and if I did, it would be too expensive. Therefore, since my fiancée is going to the US from November 20th to 28th, I will buy everything I need online and she will bring them to be assembled here;

- Because of the specific fact above, I need to choose parts that last long – both because of their quality and speed. If something breaks, I’m without a PC for at least 3 months, due to international RMA. If something gets too slow, god only knows when I will go to the US again to buy parts. Please consider this for your suggestions!

- With the exception of the case and monitor, which I will buy here due to the size, everything else will be bought on the US – not only PC parts, but tools and equipment such as cooling paste, etc.

- I already have a Razor mouse (Mamba) and keyboard and will keep using them.

Here’s what I intend to build so far, with comments for each part:

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/m9wK

CPU: Intel Core i7-3930K 3.2GHz 6-Core Processor ($499.99 @ Microcenter)