Sign in with
Your question
Solved

What's the best guide to building your own computer for a newbie?

Last response: in Systems
November 2, 2012 12:05:48 AM

I apologize if this has been covered elsewhere, but thanks to the help of forum members, all the parts to my new computer are being sent to my house as we speak. I have never built my own computer before. I have seen lots of guides on the internet, but is there one that is geared towards novices like me?

Here's pretty much what I'm getting:

CPU: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor ($319.99 @ Amazon)
Motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V PRO ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($189.99 @ NCIX US)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance LP 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($81.57 @ Amazon)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($89.93 @ Amazon)
Storage: Samsung 830 Series 256GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($189.00 @ B&H)
Video Card: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660 2GB Video Card ($227.55 @ Newegg)
Case: Corsair 500R Black ATX Mid Tower Case ($101.60 @ Mac Connection)
Power Supply: PC Power & Cooling Silencer MK III 500W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V Power Supply ($55.71 @ NCIX US)
Optical Drive: Lite-On iHAS224-06 DVD/CD Writer ($19.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Monitor: Dell U2410 24.0" Monitor ($449.00 @ Dell)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 (64-bit) ($136.45 @ B&H)

Thank you!
Related resources
November 2, 2012 12:18:52 AM