Sign in with
Your question
Solved

First time build - No video output

Last response: in Systems
November 2, 2012 8:48:53 PM

~ It's my first time building a computer, so please forgive me if this is entirely a noobie mistake!

The problem:

I assembled my new computer according to the instruction manuals I was given with the parts. When I start it up, everything turns on, all the fans move, everything lights up... But I can't get any video output from my video card.

Things that I've tried/done so far:
~Reseat things
~connecting the card to a HDMI TV as well as a VGA monitor
~Put in a pci card to get output (maybe I have to install the drivers for my video card?) - KINDA WORKED - I installed windows 7 and the video card drivers(Or whatever was on the dvd... It's never really clear about what you're installing) but I still get no video. I have reseated both cards in many combinations... At that point, I was pretty much throwing any stupid scheme I could at this problem.

Parts:
(Link)
The video card is a Radeon HD 7870 GHz edition.
Intel Core i5-2500K 3.3GHz Quad-Core Processor
ASRock P67 Extreme4 Gen3 ATX LGA1155 Motherboard
Crucial Ballistix sport 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory
OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W 80 PLUS Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply
Lite-On iHAS124-04 DVD/CD Writer
Rosewill RCX-Z90-CP 62.5 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler
Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
Lite-On iHAS124-04 DVD/CD Writer

I also have three DVDs:
The Windows 7 64 bit install disc,
The 7870 Drivers,
and this.

I've checked that the computer is properly assembled multiple times. In fact, I got the parts over a month ago, and I repeat this process every weekend... Checking everything is correct, trying to make it work... I've finally accepted that I'm a noob and I need some help.

Speculation:
I read on one forum that someone who had a similar problem had to flash their bios...