Sign in with
Your question

First build : ~$500 gaming system

Last response: in Systems
November 2, 2012 10:20:12 PM

Hi, I'm going to build my own computer for the first time, and while I know all the basic parts from reading around, I don't know what to get for the value of my money.

Approx Purchase: probably later this month near Black Friday unless I can get a much better deal during the Christmas sales

Budget Range: ~$500. I live in California so newegg taxes the parts which will end up around 550.

Preferred Websites: amazon, newegg, but I can look into the sites listed by the pc parts picker website

Parts Preferences: I prefer an Intel CPU much more than an AMD, hopefully the Intel i3 of i5?
I only need a 320 gb hard drive

Overclocking/STI/Crossfire: Maybe, but I've never done this before

Monitor Resolution: 1680 X 1050 (Acer AL2116W)

Additional Comments:
The budget does not include the os and peripherals, I already have them
I think my price should be ok for my build because the games I play are: League of Legends, Diablo III, Wow, and I want to play skyrim but my current computer does not meet the vram requirements.
I'll be looking at everyone's opinions and thank you!
November 2, 2012 11:07:44 PM

Thing is, if you're planning on buying during Black Friday sales, I can only give you a general idea of what to look for because you'll want to be taking advantage of the best deals happening at the time..

It would also be helpful to know what the specs are on your current machine and if you are okay with cannibalizing it for parts. With a budget this tight, there's a good chance you can save money by salvaging things like HDD, DVD, maybe PSU or RAM, all depending on how old it is and what it's got.

$500 is pretty stringent when you have to include the OS. I did a quick build with current prices and came up with this:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Pentium G2120 3.1GHz Dual-Core Processor ($94.99 @ Newegg)