Sign in with
Your question

Help with new card

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 6, 2012 6:17:31 PM

hello i am new to building computers.
At the moment i have a radeon hd 5450 and i want to upgrade but my card doesnt have a 6 pin connector (i don't think it does anyway) so what should i do about buying a new card cheers :) 

More about : card

a c 104 U Graphics card
September 6, 2012 6:24:03 PM

Again please ; the card doesn't have a connector or your psu doesn't have one ?
September 6, 2012 6:52:09 PM

GreenDutchAlien said:
Again please ; the card doesn't have a connector or your psu doesn't have one ?

my card does not have one do you think you can help me?
Related resources
September 6, 2012 6:52:11 PM

i your car doesnt have a 6pin connector then u are just ready to use...lol no plug will be needed....and radeon 5470 is pretty out of date........but yea... the pin connector is for graphic card that need it own power or external power + plus the power from motherboard to run ( meaning it consume alot of power on it self so therefore need the pin connector to run more power )
a c 104 U Graphics card
September 6, 2012 6:55:13 PM

Ok but if you wanna upgrade the card it doesn't matter if the old one has it or not.
What psu do you have. Brand/model ?
What mobo do you have, what processor, ram etc. What resolution do you use ?
Whats the budget and where do you buy from ?
September 6, 2012 7:01:22 PM

i have a ace 500w br psu i have amd fx-4100 processor and 8gb ram and i will be using 1024x768 i have found a card that i want the xfx radeon hd 7770 core edition but i wasnt sure i can buy it seen as my current card doesnt have a 6-pin
September 6, 2012 7:06:07 PM